“Bunheads” Leaps onto the Scene on ABC Family

Published June 12, 2012 by mickala

As a Broadway fan I was extremely happy and a little surprised to see the Broadway baby Sutton Foster in previews for a new ABC Family show. I saw Foster on Broadway in “Thoroughly Modern Millie” and am extremely familiar with her vast amount of stage work. She is brilliant and insanely talented and I was looking forward to the premiere.

I am hooked.

Official “Bunheads” poster from ABC Family

“Bunheads” seems to be a well written show that has already thrown curve balls and is hard to predict. Foster plays a Las Vegas showgirl who is tired of her life. She marries a long time suitor one night after one too many cocktails and moves to his sleepy ocean side town. In his proposal her new husband forgot to mention that he lived with his mother, whom happens to run a ballet studio which is located next to their house.

My biggest pet peeve with TV Shows these days is that they are usually extremely predictable. It may only be the Pilot but I had no idea where this show was going and I still don’t. What I do know is that there will be dancing, Sutton Foster and Kelly Bishop (of “Gilmore Girls” fame) and that is enough to keep me occupied for at least a few episodes.

The plot of this show is still being completely revealed but one subject that is being brushed is a subject that is very close to my heart. I studied ballet for many years and I am not built to be a ballet dancer, and trying to devote my life to dance was very hard and emotionally draining. “Bunheads” has introduced us to a dance school filled with four main dancers, all of various body shapes and sizes as well as varied levels of dance ability. This is the perfect setting to deal with many issues that young girls deal with on a daily basis, especially those who dance.

I have high hopes for this show. I think it could be an excellent platform to confront body image issues that are often overlooked. I also think Foster will thrive in her new medium and that “Bunheads” is exactly the kind of show families should be watching together over the summer months. If you missed the pilot episode I highly suggest you watch it and gear up for next Monday night!

Leave a Reply

